# INSTITUTE OF ENGINEERING & MANAGEMENT

(An Autonomous Institution, Affiliated to MAKAUT)
Salt Lake Electronics Complex, Kolkata 700091
West Bengal, India

#### DEPARTMENT OF ELECTRICAL & ELECTRONICS ENGINEERING



# 9th BOARD OF STUDIES MEETING – AGENDA

PERIOD
January 2024

Venue: Online Platform

Meeting Link: <a href="https://meet.google.com/vzu-thxy-mej">https://meet.google.com/vzu-thxy-mej</a>

## **Department of Electrical & Electronics Engineering**

## **Institute of Engineering & Management**

(An Autonomous Institution, Affiliated to MAKAUT, West Bengal) www.iemcal.com

9<sup>th</sup> Board of studies Meeting in the Department of

## **Electrical & Electronics Engineering**

Venue: Online Platform, Google Hangout Meeting

Link: https://meet.google.com/vzu-thxy-mej

Date & Time: 11th January (Thursday), 2024 at 10.45 AM

#### **Agenda**

BoS/EEE/AP 9.1	Welcome address and Opening Remarks by Chairman, Board of studies	
	in the department of Electrical & Electronics Engineering.	
BoS/EEE/AP 9.2	To discuss and approve the detail syllabus of 4 <sup>th</sup> semester for the batch	
	2022 – 2026, which is to be followed in the academic year 2023-2024.	
BoS/EEE/AP 9.3	To have a discussion on a sample study material of all the even	
	semesters which is to be followed in the academic year 2023-2024.	
BoS/EEE/AP 9.4	To review and suggest improvements for different practices to enhance	
	employability, skill enrichment and quality of student projects along	
	with student participation.	
BoS/EEE/AP 9.5	Any other relevant point mentioned during the meeting with the	
	permission of Chairman.	

Chairman, Board of Studies

Sub: Minutes of the 9<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Board of Studies in the Electrical and Electronics Engineering Department.

Dear Sir/Madam,

Kindly find attached herewith the Minutes of the 7<sup>th</sup> Meeting of Board of Studies of the Electrical and Electronics Engineering of the Institute of Engineering & Management, Kolkata - 700091, held on **11<sup>th</sup> January**, **2024** from **12 PM** at IEM, Management House, D -1, Street Number 13, EP Block, Sector V, Bidhannagar, Kolkata, West Bengal 700091 in hybrid mode.

Venue: Online Platform, Google Hangout Meeting

Link: <a href="https://meet.google.com/vzu-thxy-mej">https://meet.google.com/vzu-thxy-mej</a>

It is requested that comments on the Minutes, if any, may please be sent by email at arun.bar@iemcal.com, at the earliest. If no comments are received, within ten days, the Minutes shall be taken as confirmed. With Kind Regards,

Yours Sincerely,

Dr. Arun Kumar Bar

### **MINUTES**

The 9<sup>th</sup> **Board of Study Meeting** of the Electrical and Electronics Engineering Department of Institute of Engineering & Management (IEM) held on **11**<sup>th</sup> **January, 2023** from **12 PM** at IEM, Management House, D -1, Street Number 13, EP Block, Sector V, Bidhannagar, Kolkata, West Bengal 700091 in hybrid mode.

Sl No.	Name of the Faculty	Designation	Responsibility
1.	Prof(Dr) Arun Kumar Bar	Dean (Engg), Professor & Head	Chairman
2.	Prof. Dr. Madhubanti Maitra	Professor, Dept of EE, JU (Academic Expert)	Member
3.	Prof. Dr. Abhinandan De,	Associate Professor, Dept of EE, IIEST, Shibpur (Academic Expert)	Member
4.	Mr. Sankar Nath Mukhopadhyay,	Head, Asia Institute of Power management, CESC limited. (Industry Expert)	Member
5.	Prof. Subhajit Kar	Associate Professor & Head, Department of EE, IEM	Member
6.	Prof. Dr. Swati Chowdhuri,	Associate Professor. Department of EEE, IEM	Member
7.	Prof. Dr. Arpita Mandal	Associate Professor. Department of EEE, IEM	
8.	Prof. Tapas Kumar Datta	Professor. Department of EE, IEM	Member
9.	Prof. Somnath Hazra	Assistant Professor. Department of EEE, IEM	Member
10.	Prof. Arijita Das	Assistant Professor, Department of EEE, IEM	Member
11.	Prof. Nirban Chakraborty	Assistant Professor, Department of EEE, IEM	Member
12.	Prof. Neeta Sahay	Assistant Professor, Department of EEE, IEM	Member
13.	Prof. Pratik De Sarkar	Assistant Professor, Department of EEE, IEM	Member
14.	Prof. Suman Sarkar	Assistant Professor, Department of EEE, IEM	Member

2. The following members could not attend the meeting due to their prior commitments and unavoidable reasons and they were granted leave of absence.

Sl	Name of the Faculty	Designation	Responsibility
No.			
1.	Prof. Dr. Mrinal Kanti Naskar	Professor, Dept of ETCE,	Member
		JU (Academic Expert)	
2.	Prof. Amitabha Sinha	Professor, Department of	Member
		Microelectronics and VLSI	
		Technology, MAKAUT	
		(University Nominee)	
3.	Sayed Fahim Karim,	Alumni Member (EEE,	Alumni Member
		Batch 2016-2020)	
4.	Prof(Dr) Debika Bhattacharya	Dean (Academic) &	Member
		Controller of Examinations	
5.	Prof. Dr. Mohuya Chakraborty	Dean (HR), Professor &	Member
		Head, Dept of CSE, IEM	
6.	Prof. Dr. Malay Gangopadhyay	Professor & Head,	Member
		Department of ECE, IEM	

#### **Suggestions Given by the Members:**

All the external experts reviewed the detailed syllabus of the 2<sup>nd</sup> year batch 2022-2026. Also reviewed the study material structure that is to be followed for the ongoing even semester 2024. The following points were suggested by the experts:

- 1. Write up of the departmental mission is to be modified a little.
- 2. MATLAB should be included in the course curriculum.

Chairman, Board of Studies

Aumali Bal

Sl No.	Name of the Faculty	Designation	Signature
1.	Prof(Dr) Arun Kumar Bar	Dean (Engg), Professor & Head	Kunal Bal
2.	Prof. Dr. Madhubanti Maitra	Professor, Dept of EE, JU (Academic Expert)	Machinbant Marker
3.	Prof. Dr. Abhinandan De,	Associate Professor, Dept of EE, IIEST, Shibpur (Academic Expert)	Alhinandan De.
4.	Mr. Sankar Nath Mukhopadhyay,	Head, Asia Institute of Power management, CESC limited. (Industry Expert)	June Sair
5.	Prof. Subhajit Kar	Associate Professor & Head, Department of EE, IEM	Haw.
6.	Prof. Dr. Swati Chowdhuri,	Professor. Department of EEE, IEM	
7.	Prof. Dr. Arpita Mandal	Associate Professor. Department of EEE, IEM	
8.	Prof. Tapas Kumar Datta	Professor. Department of EE, IEM	
9.	Prof. Somnath Hazra	Assistant Professor. Department of EEE, IEM	
10.	Prof. Arijita Das	Assistant Professor, Department of EEE, IEM	
11.	Prof. Nirban Chakraborty	Assistant Professor, Department of EEE, IEM	
12.	Prof. Neeta Sahay	Assistant Professor, Department of EEE, IEM	
13.	Prof. Pratik De Sarkar	Assistant Professor, Department of EEE, IEM	
14.	Prof. Suman Sarkar	Assistant Professor, Department of EEE, IEM	